FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions)

What is the Heidelberg Research Laboratory for the Ancient Near East?

The Heidelberg Research Laboratory for the Ancient Near East is a six-week intensive course within which a group of motivated young Assyriologists together to read and study a selected corpus of unpublished cuneiform texts. They are accompanied and supported by a team of experienced academics.

 

Why should I participate in the Heidelberg Research Laboratory for the Ancient Near East?

In the Heidelberg Research Laboratory for the Ancient Near East, you will receive proficiencies in approaching unpublished material which is vital to working on a cuneiform document in its original copy. You will profit from the supervision of renowned academics, the diverse opportunities for networking, and the international nature of the participants: Fellow students today are fellow colleagues tomorrow!

 

When will the first Heidelberg Research Laboratory for the Ancient Near East take place?

The 1st Heidelberg Research Laboratory for the Ancient Near East will take place between 17.6.2019 and 26.7.2019 in Heidelberg.

 

Until when might I apply?

The application period for the 1st Heidelberg Research Laboratory for the Ancient Near East (17.6.-26.7.2019) begins on 1.10.2018 and ends on 7.12.2018

 

Which documents do I need in order to apply?

A complete application contains an application form filled out in full, an academic CV, copies of grades, evidence of language proficiencies, a letter of motivation, and two letters of reference.

 

I do not yet possess a Master's Degree, can I still apply?

It matters to us what you are capable of, and what you seek to learn. The Heidelberg Research Laboratory for the Ancient Near East is primarily aimed at doctoral students and early stage researchers (post-docs). We encourage advanced master’s students to apply who possess good language competencies in Akkadian and Sumerian, can certainly read cuneiform texts, and, if possible, have some initial experience in conducting research.

 

When will I learn as to whether my application was successful?

After the expiration of the application deadline, we will examine the applications received and reach a decision as to the choice of participants. In order to ensure you the longest possible time to plan, we will send you a positive or negative response from 17.12.2018.

 

Are there any fees?

Inductees into the Heidelberg Research Laboratory live for the duration of the programme without cost in the university’s guesthouse. The costs for the journey to and from Heidelberg will be reimbursed.

 

Do I get a certificate of attendance?

Sure! Upon successful completion of the Heidelberg Research Laboratory for the Ancient Near East, you receive a certificate of attendance by which we award 14 ECTS.

 

Last edited by: email
Latest Revision: 2019-03-11
zum Seitenanfang/up

FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions)

Was ist das Heidelberger Forschungslabor Alter Orient?

Das Heidelberger Forschungslabor Alter Orient ist ein sechswöchiger Intensivkurs, in dem sich eine Gruppe motivierter junger Assyriologen gemeinsam der Aufgabe stellt, unpublizierte Keilschrifttexte zu lesen und wissenschaftlich zu erschließen. Hierbei werden sie von einem Team erfahrener Wissenschaftler begleitet und unterstützt.

 

Warum sollte ich am Heidelberger Forschungslabor Alter Orient teilnehmen?

Im Heidelberger Forschungslabor Alter Orient erwerben Sie Fertigkeiten im Umgang mit unpubliziertem Textmaterial, die für die Arbeit am Keilschriftoriginal unabdinbar sind. Sie profitieren von der Betreuung durch renommierte Wissenschaftler, den vielfachen Vernetzungsmöglichkeiten und der Internationalität der Teilnehmer*innen: Die Kommilitonen von heute sind die Kollegen von morgen!

 

Wann findet das Heidelberger Forschungslabor Alter Orient statt?

Das erste Heidelberger Forschungslabor wird vom 17.6. – 26.7.2019 in Heidelberg stattfinden.

 

Bis wann kann ich mich bewerben?

Der Bewerbungszeitraum für das erste Heidelberger Forschungslabor Alter Orient (17.6. – 26.7.2019) beginnt am 1.10.2018 und endet am 7.12.2018

 

Mit welchen Unterlagen bewerbe ich mich?

Eine vollständige Bewerbung umfasst das ausgefüllte Bewerbungsformular, einen akademischen Lebenslauf, Zeugniskopien, Nachweise von Sprachkenntnissen, ihr Motivationsschreiben sowie zwei Referenzschreiben.

 

Ich habe noch keinen Masterabschluss, kann ich mich trotzdem bewerben?

Für uns zählt, was sie können und was Sie lernen wollen. Das Heidelberger Forschungslabor Alter Orient richtet sich primär an Doktoranden und Nachwuchswissenschaftler (post-docs). Wir ermutigen fortgeschrittene Masterstudenten, die über gute Sprachkenntnisse im Akkadischen und Sumerischen verfügen, Keilschrifttexte sicher lesen können und ggf. erste Forschungserfahrung gesammelt haben, sich zu bewerben.

 

Wann erfahre ich, ob meine Bewerbung erfolgreich war?

Nach Ablauf der Bewerbungsfrist werden wir die eingegangenen Bewerbungen sichten und eine Entscheidung über die Teilnehmer treffen. Um Ihnen größtmögliche Planungssicherheit zu ermöglichen, verschicken wir Zu- und Absagen ab dem 17.12.2018.

 

Welche Kosten entstehen für mich?

Wer in das Heidelberger Forschungslabor aufgenommen wird, wohnt für die Dauer des Programms kostenfrei im Gästehaus der Universität. Die Kosten für An- und Abreise werden erstattet.

 

Zuletzt bearbeitet von: E-Mail
Letzte Änderung: 04.10.2018
zum Seitenanfang/up